What’s So Funny?

Have you seen a woman taking pictures of odd things at your local grocery store? That was me. I find things funny. I find things that others don’t always think are funny are funny, like this sentence. I used to hate grocery shopping, but it is becoming so much more of an adventure. It’s not just for groceries anymore…

At first I kind of understood it. Shovels, snow melt and sleds would appear around snow predictions. Spring and summer brought coolers, beach chairs and sun umbrellas. I get it, they must sell or they wouldn’t be taking up space, and the margins are much higher than on foodstuffs. But then, this appeared…
gnome
I sent a quick pick to my darling husband telling him I had found his anniversary gift.

Then this monstrosity arrived at my local store, which, ironically, is how I usually look when I have to go grocery shopping.
horse
The second most amazing thing about this life-sized wooden sculpture was that it was priced at $2,000 (not a typo!) The most amazing thing is that someone actually bought it, that’s a sold sign pinned on him (or her, I never really checked.)

The most recent offering is this, um, emu/ostrich? Emstrich? Osmu? I am not thoroughly versed in oversized fowl:
emu
This beauty can be had for a mere $150. Ironically the identical one right next to it is priced at $100. I would definitely take the $150 one.

Oh, one final purchasing option, a two-fur special:
kangaroo
Mama Kanga and little Roo, everyone needs this, especially for just $400.

Thank you, grocery store, for making the mundane chore of food shopping so much more fun. And for those of you buying these things, seriously, I think there are better things to do with your money…

About cherichat

No better way to get to know me than by reading my blog. It is much more the truth than you would see in person.
This entry was posted in Animals, Funny, Shopping and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to What’s So Funny?

  1. Cosmo's Mom says:

    I need to find a grocery store like yours. Seems more fun, almost like an adventure.

  2. Robin Gilbert says:

    Must be that fancy Dierberg’s near my Mom’s house! She keeps talking about how great it is!
    After how many years……… I am pretty sick of grocery shopping and I feel the same way the horse does!

Leave a Reply

