Screw The Toaster

bad-dog-laptop1
I am technologically challenged… seriously technologically challenged (note basic set up of blog). I can usually turn on and off the TV, unless someone has switched to dvd or something. Is it still called dvd? Is that the same as Blue Ray? I generally can retrieve phone messages from my cell phone, which I need to do often as I never, ever, answer my cell phone. I usually have to use the house phone to call and find it. The one piece of equipment that gives me the most trouble in our home is our *&#**ING toaster. Can’t work it, not at all, makes no sense with squiggly line symbols that all look like smoking toast.

I am not, however, sweepstakes challenged, I love to enter, and even if it involves filling out stuff on the computer, I do it! Logically I know I won’t win, but a girl can dream, can’t she? Actually I won a sweepstakes once. I received a “free” cupcake at Disney World during their two years of “Year of a Million Dreams” giveaways. My favorite sweepstakes are the HGTV dream houses. I have envisioned winning all of them. I can see myself sitting in a hot tub at a beautiful mountain retreat, or sipping wine on my Napa porch, even enjoying the city view from my sleek NYC apartment. The newest give-away, however, gives me pause. It’s a smart home in Nashville. A really smart home, with just about everything from the plumbing on up digitized and computerized, even the front door. Oh, the problems I foresee with this…

First, I’m at the front door and can’t get in. That’s okay, I’ll call hubs for clues to operating. Wait, I can’t find my cell phone, must have left it in the house I can’t get into. Plus side, every entrance is monitored so family can go back and watch me struggle with entry, providing hours of amusement, I am sure.

let’s say I somehow get in. Darn it, I just want to close the curtains, now they are sashaying open and shut like an elegant ballroom dance couple. Oops, I hit something and the heat is blasting to sauna level. I’ll just go into the kitchen and get a drink. How the *&a*! do I turn on the lights? Oh no, I think I set off the burglar alarm! The fridge is as impenetrable as Fort Knox, and getting a glass of ice water would take a degree in computer science. I’ll just go in and watch TV. Really? I can’t even get it to pop out of its hidey hole.

That’s it, I need a relaxing shower. Off to investigate the operating panel that is supposedly pre programmed with our favorite settings. God I yearn for the shower dials of yore. Well, that’s out. Nature calls. Seriously? A computerized toilet? I HATE this house! (but I am still entering).

About cherichat

No better way to get to know me than by reading my blog. It is much more the truth than you would see in person.
This entry was posted in Family, Funny and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Screw The Toaster

  1. Karl Hagnauer says:

    Yea, but does the toilet clean itself too???

  2. But your sister would LOVE that house…

  3. jules says:

    I think you have the makings of a movie here, Cheri! I’m imaging these descriptions as scenes and laughing out loud. And you are not alone. I know I sound old, but I yearn for some simplicity in our techno-world. The thing I love most about my new condo….the old, old, old dial thermostat! It’s amazing, when you want it warmer, you just turn the dial up a few degrees, and when you want it cooler, you just turn it down the same way….AMAZING, what will they think of next! Really enjoy your writing!

  4. cherichat says:

    Thanks, Julie. I thoroughly enjoy yours, as well. It’s almost like we had similar training in our writing style…

  5. Enjoyed your post. Laughed at the idea of symbols representing ‘smoking toast’. Smoking a piece of toast would surely be bad for your health lol!

  6. Pingback: Ode To a Basement Dweller | Marriage, Mayhem and Mirth

Leave a Reply

