Taking My Lumps

old people

The Universe seems to have decided that I am mostly unemployable at a professional level. Although I have a degree (University of Missouri School of Journalism, yes, I am proud of it!) and years of experience in sales, marketing, editing and all types of communication, as well as owning and operating a business for 10 years, no one gives a shit… I am over 50. Tired of being constantly passed over and rarely interviewed, despite my best attempts at hiding my true age, I have decided this window is closed. It’s probably best for all involved, as my non-conformist mindset, lack of team player skills, as well as the loose tongue that comes with age, experience and menopause, would, in all honesty, probably create a few waves at the workplace.

but I am not one of those who ever thinks I am “too good” for any job. I have found a manual labor job that pays fairly well, gives me job satisfaction and helps work off those pesky extra pounds. I am a lumper. The first point of job satisfaction is using a term that many if not most people don’t know. Okay, I am not technically a lumper, I don’t usually unload boxes from the truck, but I do pack boxes for a fabulous senior moving company that a dear friend owns. The company is owned by a woman, most of the employees are women, and it’s a moving company like no other. They specialize in helping seniors transition, downsize and de-clutter. The clients are given personalized advice and help to determine what’s important, what fits (and where!) in their new homes, and then in one day, the clients walk out of their old house, and by that night, everything is placed, set and ready in their new home. Beds made, towels hung, everything in it’s proper place. It’s not unusual to see the clients tear up and exclaim how their new house already feels like home. It’s extremely satisfying. (More info, http://homesweethomestl.com/ )

This position has also allowed me unique experiences that I would never have with a “real” job. My boss and I have argued vehemently about pay, me insisting on less, she insisting on more. Has that every happened to you? I have also realized that movers, like retail workers, feel it most in the feet! I am also pretty pleased with what this little old lady body still can do.

My employment status is a cafeteria style at the moment. I am also embarking on a revisit to an old skill, editing, and am currently working as the grammar police for two authors, and seeking more. I am trying to figure out how to pimp some other skills as well, but there doesn’t seem to be a great market for crossword puzzle solver, wine drinker or rampant news consumer at the moment. I’m also a really good eater! I don’t know what my future holds, but I am pretty sure it incudes shoe inserts… and reading glasses.

About cherichat

No better way to get to know me than by reading my blog. It is much more the truth than you would see in person.
This entry was posted in Funny, Menopause, work and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

