I Want To Go Home

momanddad

Big love brings big pain.

These last few years, and especially these last few weeks, have been the hardest of my life. My amazing, feisty, funny, opinionated and loving mom died Saturday after a long and ferocious battle against Parkinson’s and old age. I discovered during her last few weeks in hospice care that she must also be a closet Dylan Thomas fan: “Do not go gentle into that good night…”

It is a dichotomy of feelings. How lucky am I that I had 53 years with my mom as an almost daily and constant presence. I miss her so, I wake up with tears on my face, not remembering what I dreamed. But she was so frail, and in so much pain, who would wish that to continue with someone so cherished?

My father, in mid to late stage Alzheimer’s, is left to cope, with diminished cognitive skills, on the loss of his wife and love of his life for 62 years. He just says “I want to go home.” I know.

My mom had that rare ability to face life’s obstacles and heartbreaks with tenacity and humor, and see the good in most situations and all people. Mom gave me a blueprint on how to live life. Love, make friends, forgive, forget, remember, see all the world you can see, seek out and appreciate the positive, and combat the negative with humor. In the end, nothing is more important than love, love IS life, and immortality.

The world is not only shaped by the famous, but maybe even more importantly by the “regular” people who simply, through their love, make the world a better place.

How lucky I am to be the daughter of Barb Correll, and to have the privilege of loving her.

About cherichat

No better way to get to know me than by reading my blog. It is much more the truth than you would see in person.
This entry was posted in Elderly parents, Family, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

